Building a Studio

pexels-photo-164938Wow, just the thought of it is daunting. Not just for the massive amount of cash one requires for such an undertking, but also the logistics and set-up. I am very lucky that my friend (and ace producer) Nick is going to help me. This will be a multi purpose space, used not only by myself but also my kid, the talanted musician Liam Cloud. Vj baby k will also be busy editing visuals here. Keep your eyes open for her crazy stuff.

I have always wanted a space to create music and it is actually the only logical next step. I certainly have enough tunes in my head to keep me busy for quite some time. The drama has always been money and head-space, of which there is never enough.

apollo_twin_carousel_1But where in the hell do you start, right? I mean I suppose one could try the ‘trial and error’ method, but you would need a ton of time and bags of cash. I, as I mentioned before, am lucky enough to have guidence from the artist known as Mechanimal.

The wish list of what to buy is huge, limited I suppose only by wallet girth. But the first piece of kit I am getting is the Apollo Twin soundcard. Apollo make great stuff that range in between 500 and 2500 Euros, but this little baby will do what I need and registers at only around 900 Euros. It also has inputs for guitars and mics, solving the ‘how do you record rock music’ question straight away.

I’ll be posting about a lot of the stuff that I’ll be getting for this studio, so if it helps anyone in any way, that’s great. After all, I’m not doing this alone. Your soudcard (and monitors) are really important, so don’t skimp

Leave a Reply

